What I have learned about the Big Show

Never give up …. Insights

We learned a lot about this show.  We had heard how well vendors had done from some friends.  But they left out a few details about the show.

  1. Black Friday is not usually busy because we have  a local Civil War football game. However we did have $163.oo in sales
  2. Saturday reported by the vendors we spoke to,   was a day of a lot of looking. Customers just were not buying.    Marie wanted to try” Buy 1 get 1 half off ” sale.  We did this for 2 hours.  It was not my jewelry , not my pricing, it was just the customers were not buying .We did sell two earrings in a bottle.
  3. Sunday was a very bad day for  me, as I could not go to the show because of IBS issues.  On the good side Duane made the first sale of the day for $43.00. They made more sales in the morning and then afternoon nothing.   Today Duane and Marie tried a different approach ” 25% off” sale. Made a little difference but the crowds were not there.
  4. We find out later that day that Next weekend is the busiest.  Friday is a day where they get in free with canned foods. So we will get the seniors and the moms with kids in school, I am told.  Saturday should be based on the past busier.  And Sunday the last day is usually the busiest as customers are expecting sales from vendors that want to unload their inventory.
  5. A vendor next to my sisters booth is selling wire style jewelry that is .999 silver but not sterling.  She has signage that states for example necklaces $39 – $69. Even though each piece is priced. She also states that no handwritten signs everything should be printed and in a sign holder. Looks more professional she says. She was apparently doing ok.  But other jewelry vendors were having sales like us.

We have moved the bottle earrings down to table level as that seems to be were everyone was looking at them. We had them in two heights. So we changed that Saturday and basically put all earrings on one table. We have necklaces and bracelets on the other table.

But while I was at home and thinking about the customer flow I  thought about making a change. 08-DSC_9228 13-DSC_9233

I am going to move the glass shelves to the side isle and the earrings and bracelets to the front isle. The necklace will stay where they are.  Still thinking about this approach have not talked to Marie to see what she thinks.

Marie did go over and help my sister who was also having sale issues.  Marie changed her look as she was also on a corner selling her bags, to a diagonal look.  Kathy would have her back to the corner.  Well must have worked as she made $120 in sales. Her best day.  Thank you Marie for helping my sister too.  I am very blessed to have Marie and Duane and the girls in my corner as well.

I had two customers tell me my jewelry is perfect for Baby Boomers who have the money.  They thought I had well made , good designs, and beautiful jewelry.  They said I needed someone to help me Market my line and that I should go on Shark Tank and go on QVC.  I told them I had my jewelry in two salons. They said nopexpo  that is not the right place for  my jewelry.  They were so cute and you could see the wheels turning as they thought this all out.

Our daughters Elizabeth and Amanda have not sold any of their earrings for $5.00. But no one has even looked at them.  David has sold 2 of his Mind Craft creeper key chains. He has made $10.00.

That is all I have from this weekend of learning about a big show in Portland at the Expo Center.  I know it is not me, my prices, or my jewelry.  It is just the venue. So I am praying that they are right and that the final weekend is the best of show.  To date we have made a total of $268.00.

 Never Give Up! is our motto for Howling Dog Jewelry.

Thanks for visiting my blog and reading my story of the Big Show.

Cindy

 

 

8 thoughts on “What I have learned about the Big Show

  1. Susan Ferrell Bowerman November 30, 2015 / 2:47 AM

    What I would give for a “crystal ball!” You just never know when a show is going to be great or just average. And honestly, Cindy, next weekend could be totally different. You just never know. I think your display looks professional and amazing, and we all know your pieces are beautiful. Here’s to better traffic next weekend, of buyers, not lookers! My “gut” tells me you are going to be pleasantly surprised.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. B'sue November 30, 2015 / 4:43 AM

    Yes, go in next week with a great attitude… as if you did not have this disappointing experience. You are doing the right thing and there are plenty of people with money to buy. They may have been scoping this out to see what they could get next week! The thing is, this was happening to everyone. Don’t even think about Shark Tank and QVC, think about finding the right shows and don’t mark your stuff down so fast, either. Wait til the last day of the show if that’s what is expected.

    Liked by 2 people

    • howlingdogjewelrycapdap1838 November 30, 2015 / 9:24 AM

      It was Duane and Marie getting nervous on Sunday. i knew from our experiment it was not me or my jewelry. But they got nervous and were trying to help me get more sales.

      Like

  3. tanglestwistsntreasures November 30, 2015 / 11:35 AM

    It might not even be the show, either. I posted last week about my experience at one of the biggest shows in our area, and everyone there had pitiful sales. They were all complaining that sales were down from last year, by a large margin. They also mentioned that sales had been dropping off since September. It’s something to do with the economy, I’m guessing. :/

    I read somewhere that you should never mark your jewelry down for shows. Especially if you sell online, because that’s unfair to your customers. I wish I could remember where I read it. I’d love to hear what other folks think about it.

    By the way, how are you handling your products overnight? I’m interested in doing more two-day shows, but I’m concerned about theft overnight. Most of the contracts state it’s the vendors responsibility to provide security for their own area.

    Like

    • howlingdogjewelrycapdap1838 December 9, 2015 / 2:04 AM

      Thank you for all the good information. The one good thing is I do not have much on Etsy. The few things I do have that I had at the show were made to be the same price. I was not there the day they did a 25% off sale. My helpers were just trying to get me more sales.

      As far as security, They provided security for the 9 days as part of the booth fees.We did not have to take anything down and covered everything with canopy and sheets. This was my first more than a day show.

      Like

  4. Becky Jarvis December 1, 2015 / 10:16 AM

    I have not gone to the America’s Largest Bazaar in a few years – too expensive and too many commercial vendors and made in China stuff and not enough handcrafters. Cindy – I think your stuff is too good to be at this event and you should look at more venues that exclusively feature handcrafted items.

    Like

    • howlingdogjewelrycapdap1838 December 9, 2015 / 1:58 AM

      Thank you Becky I appreciate this information. If you know of any venues that I should try to get into , please let me know. This was a big learning experience for me.

      Thank you Cindy
      We should do Lunch someday

      Like

Leave a comment