Roses and Roses, Love making Roses

What’s New!!!!  Exciting new looks are happening at the Howling Dog Worktable this week.

Making of a Rose Jewelry line that will also tie into my Love Beetle Rocks jewelry line,

I learned at a very young age from my Aunt to make roses with clay.  She made ceramic roses in the same colors I like to use.  Her Roses were made into earrings, and brooches.  They were the white, pink with the green leaves I have used in my own jewelry designs. The sales of her roses paid for her trips to the West coast to see my Grandmother.   My grandmother always had us doing some kind of craft to keep us busy for the summer.  So when my Aunt came one summer she sat my twin sister and I down and taught us how to make her ceramic roses.  It was a lot of fun and I still have those days with fond memories.

50 yrs later I find myself looking back at those memories and applying what I had learned.  I now make roses from Polymer clay.  A very versatile clay which I love working with today.  I can create all kinds of colors to make my roses.  As I live in Portland Oregon known for their Roses and referred to as THE CITY OF ROSES, I decided to make a new line of simple pendants, earrings, bracelets, brooches, and rings using my roses.  I am using old stampings and tooling of brass from the US and Germany, as I Love the vintage looks and mixed media .  The quality of these pieces are just wonderful.   \7

Here are some of my Roses and works in progress.  Leave a comment and let me know what you think of this new line of Rose jewelry from Howling Dog Jewelry.  Below is my Etsy shop where you can find more jewelry designs by Howling Dog Jewelry.5-DSC_7961 6-DSC_7962 7-DSC_7963

https://www.etsy.com/shop/howlingdogjewelry

Leave a Reply

