Mentoring 5 girls in Handmade Jewelry, Merchandising, and selling at a local Market for the Summer

The girls are my daughters friends for the past 10 yrs. They love coming over to my house and visit. For the past 5 yrs they have watched my jewelry line evolve into what it is today. These girls are a great group of kids who are taking pride in what they are doing. I have always had a soft opening heart when it comes to kids. I think they feel they have another home and feel apart of my family. I started out just doing Intel holiday shows where my husband worked. Then about 3 yr ago I started with B’Sue and Cindy Lietz making jewelry. Some of the girls have made jewelry with me. I would have to say they are my biggest fans.

Even when they are not selling they are always asking how we did as they take part ownership because they are the setup crew. I have been using these teens for this outdoor market going on 4yrs. And this year I literally do not have to setup or take down. So this is why I am adding a new element, The girls get to design the layout, pick out the jewelry they like and now two of them are selling. Layla who designed the booth this week was so pumped that her displays were helping sales. Elizabeth and Ashley were pumped that they worked together making sales.

The girls are learning so much and are having fun. It comes them a sense of purpose and something to look forward to in the summer. My crew even gives me feed back on how the booth looks. But they are really excited about having more input with the displays.

Leave a Reply

