Part one

Part one……..   Let me start from the beginning….

There was a little girl (Cindy Eastwood)  who loved to catch bees in a mason jar. She would take the jar and lid and capture the bees flower, leaves, and stems into the jar.  Cindy was never stung but did enjoy viewing  the bees safely in the jar.  You see Cindy’s Dad and  Grandpa were Entomologists.  So having beetles pinned in boxes and labeled as to what species they where was quite normal.  My Dad showed me how to catch bugs safely in a butterfly net.  Cindy’s backyard had a giant willow tree which always had monarch butterflies.  Cindy with Dad’s help made a cage for the caterpillars out of an old oatmeal tub and some wire screen.  Cindy collected the gentle monarch caterpillars, placed them in the cage and off to school they went for a science project.

The reason why I picked  beetles for my jewelry line was because my Grandpa studied beetles that would help with prickly pear in  South Africa in the 1940’s.  He worked for the United Nations and United Kingdom studying insects.  He was even asked to work for the Smithsonian.   He has written 3 books and they are in the Smithsonian today.

Stay tuned for more childhood stories as I share my artistic journey creating my very first jewelry line.  

5 thoughts on “Part one

  1. Susan Bowerman, Woodside WireWorks January 23, 2015 / 1:06 PM

    I loved your story, Cindy. I can't wait to read more posts from you. And your theme is going to be awesome. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

    Like

  2. Lee January 23, 2015 / 1:08 PM

    I can relate to having a dad who taught you so much! Your dad would have loved to hang out with mine. Dad would have taken him deep into the woods in NY and showed him where every mammal, fish and fowl lived while your dad would have showed him the crawler world.

    Like

  3. Nike E. Bottalico January 23, 2015 / 3:23 PM

    What a exciting childhood time! I cannot wait to see what your creations are! I am so happy to be working along side of you!

    Like

  4. Kristy Le Trendy Jewelry January 25, 2015 / 12:42 PM

    Cindy your child hood sounds like an amazingly cool adventure, like being on a bug safari,love your concept. and story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

